Start your journey to a Healthier You by preventing Type2 diabetes
news banner 01

Latest News

news banner 02

Latest News

news banner 03

Latest News

Start your journey to a Healthier You by preventing Type2 diabetes

16th April 2018

16th Apr 2018

Did you know that more than 200,000 people are diagnosed with Type2 diabetes every year – and that means the risk of serious health complications and early death? Modern life can make it hard to be healthy but for many people Type2 diabetes can be prevented by making small lifestyle changes.

Here in Essex the Healthier You: NHS Diabetes Prevention Programme is a free education course for those who are at high risk of developing Type2 diabetes – also known as pre-diabetic. It is estimated that across mid and south Essex alone at least 25,000 people are at risk of developing the condition.

High risk groups include people who are overweight, people from South Asian, African-Caribbean or Black African descent and men over 40. You may also be at risk if you have a family history of diabetes or have ever had high blood pressure.

Through the prevention programme you will receive support to make positive changes to your diet, weight and physical activity to significantly reduce your chance of developing the condition.

Click here to watch a short video on how the programme is already helping people across Essex.

You can find out if you are at risk of developing Type2 diabetes by:

  • Answering a few questions on the ‘Know Your Risk’ tool at www.diabetes.org.uk/risk
  • Taking up the offer of a free NHS Health Check - more info here.
  • Asking your GP or Practice Nurse to check your risk

If you have been told you are at risk of diabetes and meet the criteria for the prevention programme ask your GP or Practice Nurse to refer you.

If you are not identified as being at risk but would still like to make lifestyle changes to improve your health then why not check out the Essex Lifestyle Service – a free service for anyone over the age of 16.

Your login details have been used by another user or machine. Login details can only be used once at any one time so you have therefore automatically been logged out. Please contact your sites administrator if you believe this other user or machine has unauthorised access.